Setting a volleyball for the first time.

Volleyball Spike

Spike. The Spike. The feeling of fully contacting the volleyball and swinging as hard as you can, leaving that tingling sensation all across your palm. That was the one skill that I always wanted to be superior at when I first experienced the game. As I began to play seriously, you can imagine my first position of choice was the wing spiker. Like most young teens, I wanted to be the one to deliver a devastating spike that would demoralise / tilt the other team and excite the spectators.

Volleyball Setting

Fast forward and I no longer focus on the spike as intensely, it is more the interplay between the macro and micro aspects of the game now. This means I value continuously refining my fundamentals as well as increasing my awareness and strategy, in and out of games. It is then at no surprise that I find myself rising to the setter position for my new team and club. Being the setter is vastly different from any position (wing spiker and middle blocker) that I have taken because I have never enjoyed setting. I always wanted to be at the receiving end of a set and wanted to win the point for the team. However, through my maturity in the game, I have gained an overwhelming respect and admiration for all setters. It is bloody hard. No other position, in my opinion, really requires the ability to constantly multitask under stress, to the magnitude of a setter; simultaneously watching the opposing defence, being aware of a good or bad receive and what particular set and to whom will win the point. Not to mention, I have never been a fast runner and now I am in the position that constantly requires me to sprint, and honestly I have never enjoyed my position as much as I do now. Gone are the days when I wanted to stand out, to be the show stopper, but instead now wanting be the strategist and tactician. Through setting, I want to be “the control tower that tosses for spikes and coordinates the offence” – Haikyuu. This is also aligned with my goal for longevity in the sport as I find setting does not tax my knees as heavily, even with jump setting I am not exploding upwards in order to kill the ball.

A setter is “the control tower that tosses for spikes and coordinates the offence” – Haikyuu.

Additionally, not only am I taking up a new position, I am also proudly a part of a newly formed club that is playing for my league, the WAVL. This club, the Fremantle Fury VC interested me because of its potential for growth and my desire to be involved in its evolution. This season is to be my restart into the world of volleyball and I want to do it with people and a club that want to grow, a place where tradition and culture is still being created. Its time to make my mark and start anew in this sport and with this club.

 

Leave a Reply

