Striving to give the perfect effort in volleyball

The Perfect Effort.

I first stumbled on his concept while watching the movie; When the Game Stands Tall. It is a concept where every player provides 100% of their effort whilst training / playing while trusting that every other player is doing the same. As a result, deep roots of trust and connection develop between players because each is working towards the same goal of victory and glory for the team. This is the mentality that I have adopted and expect from my team whenever we set foot on a court, and because of this I am able to play to the best of my abilities. It is about bringing out the best in each other, to grow organically towards a similar goal so that, at the end of it all, not only do players improve technically, but they also learn a thing or two about human connection, relationships and what it means to be resilient. This is the beauty of volleyball for me, and it is in the fact that the game cannot be played and won by any single player, but a group of 6 players. It is entirely possible for 6 individuals to win and even progress together, but when 6 individuals become a team, achievement becomes limitless.

“We’re like the blood in our veins. We must flow without stopping. Keep the oxygen moving and your mind working.” – Haikyuu.

I immediately resonated with this quote because it directly reflects my individual play-style of being primarily support / supporter archetype, as well as being in alignment with the concept of The Perfect Effort. It is not the responsibility of any one person to win a game, but an entire team to coordinate and connect with one another.

Reality: April 30th, 2017 at 11:30 am – First game of the season.

The first game that I debuted for my volleyball revival was a game to remember because it showed my team the areas we need to improve upon. Without any games as a team beforehand, we merely hyped ourselves up and hoped for the best. After all was said and done, the greatest moment of that “trial by fire” was the opposing teams captain coming up to us and commenting how that was the most exciting game of volleyball he has played in WAVL (my league) in years. To my team they may have still been discouraged about our near loss, but to me this comment highlighted the passion and intensity that my team has when we step on the court. I was, and still am, thrilled about that comment and always try to evoke that same level of passion and intensity in my own, and my teams, play every game day.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

